Food and relativity

Berty famously said (I assume everything he said is now famous):

“Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. THAT’S relativity.”

I was reminded of this phrase recently while having the following conversation with two colleagues, Kennedy (a Catholic ex-seminarian from Kerala) and Ramakrishna (a Hindu from Tamil Nadu).

Ramaswamy: Hey Kennedy, I heard you’ve eaten all kinds of crazy things and that you eat beef for breakfast.

Kennedy: Yes indeed.  I was a seminarian in the Northeast (India) back in the day, and we ate dogs, cats, field rats…delicious

R: Wow!

Kabcity: Interesting. I ate donkey once. It was pretty good. Alligator and Ostrich at the Minnesota state fair were rather unappetizing.

R: You guys eat crazy things!

Kennedy: But don’t you also eat some crazy things in Tamil Nadu?

R: No no only goat and chicken, sometimes beef. But never non-veg for breakfast. The goat is delicious…especially the brain, blood, and feet.

Kennedy: Wow!

R: My favourite is the intestines. You must clean it though. It has waste. The entire stomach area is the best. But you must clean it. In hot water. Oh I love it!

Kennedy: That’s crazy

R: No, it is only a goat. It is not crazy. I can never eat a cat, and I will never eat beef for breakfast.

Kennedy: What is the difference – eating meat is eating meat.

R: You are right. I must try dogmeat when I am in Nagaland next week. But there is no way I can eat it for breakfast! That is crazy!! Haha!

Kennedy: haha!

City: That’s relativity (I didn’t actually say that, I just joined in the laughter)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack Eisenberg (@goshijack)
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 10:55:29

    LL cool j said the same thing in ‘deep blue sea.’ words of wisdom indeed!

    Reply

  2. suma
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 09:52:39

    hahaahhaha i just read this. When’s your next update?

    Reply

Leave a comment