the boy who lived

Before I chose the name for my blog, I wrote something I wanted to post which was quite serious. After spending hours and hours picking the perfect and most brilliant name for this blog (and what could be more perfect and brilliant than KabCity-The Sethi Equilibrium?), I was too lazy to actually post my post. I’ve now come to realize that “KabCity” does not suggest seriousness, so I will start out with something light and meaningless.

In keeping with the hype around the most anticipated first part of the seventh instalment of a movie series ever (I cannot wait to watch it!!!!), here are two stories from my life, followed by a poll (please vote, even if you can’t get through both stories):

Story A:

When working in villages in Odisha, which is where I’ve been for the last few weeks, it is advisable to always wear pants (as opposed to shorts) and full-sleeved shirts.  This is to:

a) Make sure you don’t disrespect the villagers by being immodest

b) Protect against being bitten by the female Anopheles mosquito

c) Look professional

When the “field team” visits villages, we usually stay in a hotel near our target village.  By the time we return to the hotel in the evenings, there isn’t any time for socializing and such, so we just change into our night clothes and go to sleep, meaning we rarely see each other wearing anything other than the prescribed outfit mentioned above.

On the fourth or fifth day of our recently completed field work, we returned early from the village and, because it was pretty hot, I decided to wear shorts. When I came out of the bathroom in my new attire, Jagat, one of the field staff, immediately told me I looked really good.

“You look really good right now, Kabs”

“Wearing shorts?”

“Yes my friend…just like Harry Potter”

“Thanks yaar”

Story B:

My sister, my mother, and I are all Harry Potter enthusiasts.  Mother is more devoted than either of us siblings, so she went to watch the new motion picture as soon as she could. She then called me to tell me it was fantastic, but that she cried from start to end because:

a) The Harry Potter series was coming to an end

b) All the children leaving home made her think of how my sister and I and all our friends are now away from home

c) Harry Potter looks like me

This brings us to…

The first KabCity Poll:

EDIT: I have removed the photograph to protect my identity haha.


9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Josh
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 21:48:21

    Your poll allowed me to vote for both “yes” and “no” at the same time. Which is how I really feel.

    Reply

  2. Kabs
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 21:57:31

    Thanks Josh (old josh? new josh? who can say in the digital realm!)

    Reply

  3. Aditi
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 22:30:20

    So excited that you have started a blog. Between you and Tommy, I will now have my work cut out for me!

    PS. I will be in Delhi in December/January – will you be around?

    Reply

  4. Tommy
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 23:01:34

    When I first saw the poll without the content I thought, whaaaaat, no way.

    I then read the post, and what can I say, mother’s always right. It’s a yes.

    Reply

  5. Tina
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 23:02:55

    Can I say how excited I am that you just started a blog??!!???

    Reply

  6. Kizito
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 07:00:44

    haha, hilarious

    Reply

  7. Anne Johnson
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 05:39:51

    Haven’t I mentioned that I’m only dating you because I think you look like Harry Potter?! AJ +HP 4Eva!

    Reply

  8. Urvashi
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 14:37:00

    After much deliberation I have decided to vote “Yes”. I would never have thought of it myself but after looking at the pictures I have to admit – there is an uncanny resemblance between you and Harry Potter.

    This post also reminds me that I still need to watch HP 6 and HP 7.1

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Take Rest « KabCity

Leave a Reply

